>

4/25/10

HOW TO DELETE YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT, NOT JUST "DEACTIVATE" IT

Hotel Facebook: You can check out but you can never leave...

Well...yes you can but there's a little trick to it:


HOW TO DELETE YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT, NOT JUST "DEACTIVATE" IT


Do you want to delete your Facebook account and have only been able find that it appears they only allow you to "deactivate" your account? With that method everything is still preserved forever and ever until the end of data time? Well not so fast, maybe you really don't want to permanently delete your account...especially if you've just had a bad experience, prudence might dictate you wait a while. Then join the group "How to permanently delete your Facebook account" and you can get the latest instructions available on how to delete your account when you really are ready.

However...There are a lot of reasons why you probably should permanently delete your account, considering the fluid, ever-changing privacy policies and the creepy social engineering aspects of the site. The backlash is just beginning because one day...Zuckerberg may decide to go even further and display your "likes" and your personal information not only to the World of Facebook but to the Entire World! He will create a better world of his vision with your data!

SERIOUSLY:

Should you want to delete your account, here are the instructions, which must be followed to the letter of Facebook Law.

Go to: http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account

That will take you to the page Delete My Account with the message:

If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click "Submit."

My Disclaimer: In spite of a statement in the group's instructions (I've posted the necessary instructions here), I'm going to assume Facebook means YOU will not be able to retrieve any content or information but THEY will still be storing it. My tendency is to believe that the data is in some deep freeze storage somewhere but not really worth their digging up at this point in time.

If you want to delete your account, then follow instructions and click "Submit." 

HERE IS THE IMPORTANT KEY TO SUCCESSFULLY DELETING YOUR ACCOUNT:

Pay attention to this part: Your account will only be deactivated for two weeks before it is deleted. If YOU DO NOT LOG IN during that time frame, then your account will be permanently deleted. REPEAT: Your profile is not deleted right away and you MUST NOT LOG IN to your account for AT LEAST TWO WEEKS.

If you log in it cancels the deletion request, so logging in to "check to see if it's deleted" defeats the purpose. If you want out, STAY OUT. Got that?

This is the official method and completes the process and it is not necessary to delete photos, comments, messages, items from your profile or anywhere in Facebook. If you have any questions about the deletion of your account, send email to info@facebook.com. Hopefully you won't get a template back from some intern telling you to sign in and send them secure email through Facebook. Don't fall for that one either.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________